Burnt Sugar Freaks The Walker Art Center & Rebellum hits The Road.

On April 26, 2014 , The Burnt Sugar Arkestra will be freaking the Steely Dan songbook (conducted by Vernon Reid) at The Walker Arts Center in Minneapolis.
This is the first time we’ve played this venue and we couldn’t be more excited.
Hit this link for details and tickets.

‘Round that time, our splinter group, Rebellum will be taking advantage of the geography and hitting a few dates in the midwest.
This 8 piece band will be visiting Columbus, Dayton, Lakewood & Lebanon Ohio. Madison, Wisconsin, Chicago Illinois, and Detroit, Michigan

Rebellum Midwest Tour Spring 2014
Rebellum Midwest Tour Spring 2014

REBELLUM is Burnt Sugar the Arkestra Chamber’s funk & roll splinter-cell on tour to promote their new release, “The Darknuss.”

Gripping the sum of REBELLUM’s parts demands one apprehends these factions: The two-part super fly vocal frontline of Mikel Banks & Shelley Nicole; those ace riddim section companeras, The Buckeye Bass Mack Jared Michael Nickerson & Straight-Up Caveman drummer, Matsu; not to mention Valerie June Guitar Hero Ben Tyree, Bari Sax Goddess for TVOR & Nick Waterhouse, ‘Moist Paula Henderson, William Parker Trumpeter of Choice Lewis ‘Flip’Barnes and Vernon Reid Keyboard Liberator, Leon Gruenbaum.

This very accomplished crew has playing credits that range from Cecil Taylor, Toshi Reagon, Charlie Musselwhite, DJ Logic, Gary Lucas,, TV On The Radio, Tamar Kali, Phish, William Parker, Mark Ribot, Lizz Wright, The Holmes Brothers, Lady Kier, Wadada Leo Smith, David Murray and Joseph Bowie.

File under Grown & SexyAvant-Agit-Pop. The 13 songs on REBELLUM’s debut album on their own label, AvantGroidd Musica, burst forth a bloody profusion of exotic trace elements–warped soul harmonies, freedom swing hornplay, maggot brained guitar implosions and orchestral loopadelics in the dark. The spirits of Sun Ra, Ron Hardy, Eddie Hazel, Gary Numan and The Emotions are all welcome here.

Vocalists: Mikel Banks ~ Shelley Nicole
Trumpet:Lewis “Flip” Barnes
Bari-Sax: “Moist” Paula Henderson
Guitar: Ben Tyree
Keyboards: Leon Gruenbaum.
Electric Bass: Jared Michael Nickerson
Drums: Matsu