All Ya Needs That Negrocity

  • All Ya Needs That Negrocity
  • 2011 : AVANT GROIDD Musica

Now enter­ing our sec­ond decade, Burnt Sug­ar The Arkestra Cham­ber con­tin­ues an obses­sive dri­ve to bring Franken­stein back to musi­cal hybridity–brutally graft­ing and re-charg­ing funkys­tanknasty old­er trib­al forms with present-day post-soul ener­gies while leav­ing all man­ner of wires, lesions, sutures, scars and micro­sur­gi­cal fil­i­gree loose, open and lubri­cious in the bloody bar­gain.

Track List

  1.  The Cold Sweat Vari­a­tions —  Feat. Myles Reil­ly, Flip Barnes , Qasim Naqvi
  2.  Lib­er­tan­go (I’ve Seen That Face Before) —  Feat. Lisala Beat­ty , Maya Azu­ce­na
  3. The Guru’s Lover / Clau­dine —  Feat. Lisa Teasley
  4. Clau­dine —  Feat. Swiss Chris, Flip Barnes, Har­ald Keise­du
  5. Burn­ing Cross­es —  Feat. Abby Dob­son , Rene Akan
  6. Bliques Haff Mo Funn —   Feat. Avram Fefer, Mic­ah Gaugh, Vijay Iyer
  7. Whut Rough Beast —  Feat. Michael Veal, Jared Nick­er­son , Dave Smoo­ta Smith
  8. Bliques Strategems  — Feat. Vijay Iyer , Jason Di Mat­teo
  9. Throne Of Blood 33 1/3:( Encrypt­ed Ver­nac­u­lar)  — Feat Andre Las­salle , Mikel Banks
  10. Blood Music

All music com­posed by Burnt Sug­ar Arkestra & Greg Tate.
Except for “Lib­er­tan­go” com­posed by Astor Piaz­zo­la, Lyrics By Nathaly Delon, Bar­ry Reynolds, David Wilkey
& “Cold Sweat”  com­posed by Pee Wee Ellis

“Burn­ing Cross­es”  Lyrics By Tate
“Lib­er­tan­go” : Poem recita­tion By Maya Azu­ce­na
“The Guru’s Lover” : Poem recita­tion by Lisa Teasley

Record­ed At Peter Karl Stu­dios, Brook­lyn NY. 2008–2011



“"Burnt Sugar, the provocative aggregate that was doing mashups before the term was even coined, returns with its most accessible offering. Greg Tate, the group’s ringleader, still emphasizes tex- tual ingenuity and controlled cacophony but the results are less murky and less derivative. During the band’s early years, Tate’s fascination with P-Funk, Miles Davis’ Bitches Brew and Butch Morris’ conductions often got the best of the ensemble, making the music loud and quizzical but wanting for a distinctive sound beyond its influences. By moving to the center and at times concentrating more on durable songs, Burnt Sugar is inching its way into its own thing.

That said, the disc begins with two intrigu- ing makeovers: an Afro-Cuban take on James Brown’s “Cold Sweat” and a noir-ish romp through Astor Piazzolla’s “I’ve Seen That Face Before (Libertango).” In both instanc- es, Burnt Sugar tucks in its penchant for sonic aggression and allows the songs to reign. In turn, Mazz Swift’s haunting violin and Maya Azucena’s dramatic singing on the latter shine.

From there, things get hazier as Azucena and vocalists Abby Dobson and Lisala Beatty swap lead on the frontline, alternating between phan- tasmagorical singing to spoken-word erotica. The rotating cast of drummers and bassists gives the music an insistent, slow-roiling sensation, espe- cially on “Claudine,” which becomes an ideal vehicle for tenor saxophonist Harald Kisiedu. Vijay Iyer showcases his rhythmic flair on the afrobeat-inspired “Bliques Haff Moor Funn” and the avant-reggae dub “Blique Stategems.””
by  John Murph